The Piano

I woke up at 7:30 in the morning, to my dog licking my ear, and stepped outside, the gentle morning breeze swiped my face. 

I went back inside, and ate my breakfast, egg on toast with a cup of orange juice on the side.  Halfway through my breakfast I hear a knock on the door. Springing up from my seat, I ran to answer. 

“Hello ma’am,” Came a shy voice. 

“Hello?” I said

“Would you like to buy this old piano? Sounds very nice,  only has a couple dents. You can buy it for only 100 dollars.” The girl said.

Hmm, I’ve always wanted to play piano. I thought

“Sure, I’ll take it” I said

“Great! She said,

I got the piano inside. The once white piano keys were now gray with dust. Quickly, I grabbed a rag and wiped them off. I smiled at the now white, gleaming keys. 

I took my sister’s old piano book out and started to play a tune called “The Lurking Octopus.”

Very strange song. But I realized how much I loved to play it. 

I started taking piano lessons.

10 years later, I still do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *