First Chapter of Zuri’s Story

I woke up on Feb. 8th at 6:00 am. I always have to wake up that early if I want to get to school by 7:30. Ten minutes to get dressed, 5 minutes to do my hair, 45 minutes to eat breakfast, and then 30 minutes to get to school. That is just MY morning routine. My sister has to wake up at 5:30 to finish picking out her clothes and hair style by 6:65 at latest. I don’t really understand that about her, and something about it is annoying. Anyway, that morning when I was eating my chocolate chip pancakes, breaking news came on the TV. I wasn’t listening because news was usually boring. But then my ears heard something shocking. “There has been an outbreak of a never-before-seen virus in China. Scientists are calling this deadly virus covid-19.” said the Channel 8 news reporter. Now that was news you did not hear everyday. A new virus? This reminded me of video games where a virus can automatically destroy all your data. A lot of the world’s common things remind me of video games. I looked back at my mom and she was as glued to the TV as I was. Again, this was not your average news. About an hour later when I got to school, people were talking about what was on the news that morning. I rushed over to my best friend in the whole wide world, Sydney. “Hey Syd! Did you see the news this morning?” I asked. “Yep. Crazy, right? Plus, if I didn’t, I would have found out by now. Everyone is talking about it.” She was right about that. The news was buzzing around like bees. “Ring, Ring!” went the bell that Mrs. Kendall rings when a class is starting. “We should go to math now.” said Sydney. “Oh! I almost forgot. My birthday is in about two months and I was planning on having a small gaming party. Wanna come?” I asked. “Obviously!” said Sydney. “Kyle’s coming too, right?” “Duh! I have to have both of my best friends there.” I said. “KK. We should really go to class now…” “Oh yeah, yeah right! Let’s go.” Diary, I know for a fact that you will not believe what happened one and a half months after that conversion.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *